Hello world!

Posted on Feb 22, 2022

Who are you?

Nicholas Bergeron. I went to Vanderbilt from 2016-2020 where I picked up a B.A. in math with minors in scientific computing and European studies. In 2021 I went to big tech but didn’t like it there, so I came to Chicago to make a living tutoring. I plan to keep tutoring until I begin grad school in philosophy.

What’s this website about?

My main academic interests: philosophy of math, philosophy of logic, logic, and set theory. Since I’m not yet able to make novel contributions to any of those fields, my work will be expository notes and commentary. So think of Thomas Jech or Graham Priest as Aristotle and me as a junior monk in some dank medieval scriptorium carefully expounding on the scholars' words. I plan to write up notes from my readings to challenge myself and contribute something to the Internet.

What’s this site’s purpose?

My goal is to study philosophy in a graduate program. Since there are eighteen months between now and the beginning of the Fall 2023 semester, i.e. the earliest I can begin my studies, it struck me as wise to begin a semi-formal project to hone my writing skills or at least prevent their atrophy.

Keeping my nose in the relevant literature also serves the dual purposes of preparing me for my eventual academic career and maintaining my focus on that career. Daily life has a nasty way of turning your attention from your goals if you don’t actively combat it. What’s more, I needed an excuse to write. I love writing and have missed it.

I hope the site’s a good read. I have no academic credentials besides a B.A. in a semi-related field and no editorial oversight, so don’t believe a word I say. At best, this site should point you toward resources you might find helpful and interesting. I disclaim any credibility.

What’s with the site name?

I stole it.